What Instagram Taught Me About Life

{By Samantha Roose}

Scrolling through my Instgram feed recently I was overwhelmed by the picture-book life I live.

christian instagram

When I got myself an Instagram account last summer I thought it would just be for a season while I traveled the Mediterranean with my Grandmother and brother and sister. But before I even packed my suitcase or set foot on a plane Instagram had already taught me to fall in love with life.

Day after day of capturing moments I wanted to remember I suddenly realized how good my life was. Every day I captured not one, not two, but often three treasures that I wanted to turn into Christmas ornaments and relive every time I decorated the tree: people, opportunities, quotes, scenery, beastly workouts, challenges, victories.

Just this morning I was watching my little brother dance around the living room to worship music. I reached for my phone. But as I swiped the screen I couldn’t make myself take the picture. In that moment I realized my life was too good for Instagram. My life has to be experienced. Sure, I share snippets and highlights. But that’s just like looking into the mirror after I have done my make-up for a special evening out.

The reflection is beautiful, but it’s not complete.

The reflection won’t tell you all the stories that led to being able to go out for a super special night with a super special person. The reflection won’t tell you all the turmoil in my heart that lead up to this moment, or the hours I spent shopping for just the right dress, and the hot rollers that we just took out of my hair. It’s incomplete.

I think there are two types of incompleteness (if that’s a word) in life. There’s the kind of incomplete where you only see the reflection. And the there’s the other kind of incomplete where you only see the shopping and hot rollers. I’m the kind of person who experiences the second type of incompleteness; always seeing the grunt-work and never seeing the results. That’s part of what makes God so special. He always sees the completed picture. He’s always in the process of finishing what He has started, but He never looses sight of the completed picture.

My Instagram feed is precious to me not because my list of followers is slowly growing and the “likes” are always increasing.

It’s precious to me because it completes my perspective on life.

Every time I take a photo I am choosing to see the good in my life and give thanks. Every time I scroll through my feed I see the “dressed for a fancy night” reflection of my life and it reminds me that my life is good. I know when others see my photos and read my explanations they’re getting an incomplete picture of my life, but every time I see my feed I glimpse the completed picture.

And I fall in love with my life and my God all over again.

What have you learned from having Instagram? 

 

