Socality Barbie Is Leaving And I Love Her Even More

{By Ellery Sadler}

Have you seen her? Hipster glasses. Long legs. Beautiful lighting. Perfect backgrounds.

A couple months ago I ran across the Instagram account @socalitybarbie and thought it was hilarious. When I followed it, the account had about 13,000 followers. Now, after an interview with Wired, it has over a million. People all over the world have fallen in love with the snarky humor of our favorite hipster barbie (but really Darby Cisneros, the creator of the account). While it was fun to look through the perfectly posed, beautifully fake photos, I couldn’t help but wonder how much time Darby spent taking the pictures. With her rise to fame, there was more pressure to perform.

Socality Barbie quits @socalitybarbie

It had begun as a hobby, a joking way to make fun of our obsession with #authenticliving and perfectly posted ‘candid’ photos. But in the span of two months, we’ve become obsessed with an account making fun of our obsession. Maybe it’s just me, but it seems a little ironic.

I checked back on the account today, hoping for a funny caption or two and saw this post instead: Darby was shutting down the account. Fans went wild, tear-eyed emoji faces filling the comment section, people begging her to change her mind, some wishing her luck on her next endeavor.

I applaud Darby shutting down the account.

She didn’t buy into the Instagram fame. She didn’t let the fact that she has more followers than a lot of celebrities turn her head. And she had the guts to realize that her message had been heard and the story of Socality Barbie was complete.

It takes courage to leave fame.

Even if the fame is just for the Instagram account of a Barbie who’s life you made up. She still got thousands upon thousands of likes every day. She got interviews with magazines and had people talking about her. She could have monetized this – she could have created Socality Barbie t-shirts and coffee mugs and fair-trade chocolate bars. She could have written a book. But she didn’t.

She had 1.3 million followers. And she gave it up. She gave it away. She let go of the fame.

I don’t know what Darby’s life is actually like or what she’s actually doing, but I like to imagine that she’s out there living life feeling freer now. I like to imagine she went to pick pumpkins with her girlfriends before Halloween. I like to imagine she is going to see waterfalls and drink coffee with friends and go to the beach early in the morning with messy hair and not take any pictures. I like to imagine that she is storing up all those Instagram-worthy moments in her mind.

Because shouldn’t life be more than Instagram-worthy?

Shouldn’t it be memory worthy? Shouldn’t it be worth telling your best friend about or writing down in your journal?

Seeing Darby cancel her account made me wonder, would I have the same audacity if I was in her place? Would I drop my hard-earned followers because none of them are really my friends? Would I let go of hundreds of thousands of likes because none of them really know me? Or would I be lulled into believing that fame brings fulfillment?

“The project turned out to be so much more than I ever thought it would and that is something to be proud of,” Darby says in her last interview with Wired. “I think it’s important to know when to call it quits.”

The beauty of it all is that Darby stayed true to her message: life is about more than likes or Instagram or followers or hashtags. Don’t be fooled by fame.

Life is about actual living.

