What Organizing a Flash Mob Taught Me About Christ

{By Samantha Roose}

I coordinated and choreographed a flash mob this summer ya’ll! It was hard. It was scary. But most of all, it was awesome.

When it was finally over I cried. Hurting tears because a beautiful and powerful season had come to an end; and, happy tears because God had chosen to use me in a beautiful and powerful way. I learned a lot of things that week, but one that stands out to me the most was our message: “Sold Out.”

flash mob

“Sold Out” Actions

The best description of being “Sold Out” are the lyrics themselves, which say: I’m stepping out without hesitation, because the battle’s already been won. Each aspect of the event required embracing the unknown, venturing into unmarked territory, and taking risks. I had to step out believing that God had equipped me and would see me through. The instructors had to trust that the flash mob was possible and that they were able to teach. The participants had to believe that they could learn the choreography and perform it in public “spontaneously.” If any of us hesitated for a fraction of a second the flash mob may not have happened.

“Sold Out” God

As I was praying with my team of instructors it hit me that God is “Sold Out.” Starting in the Garden of Eden, to a stable in Bethlehem, up the Hill of Golgotha, and faithfully calling us His own, God was “Sold Out.” He dared to create us in His image – us who He knew would turn against Him. Then He sent His son to become a human and be raised by humans. Finally, He watched His one and only Son be crucified to pay the penalty for our sins – sins He NEVER committed or ever would. And today, He calls us His children. If that’s not “Sold Out” I don’t know what is.

“Sold Out” Life

Our verse for the week was Galatians 2:20. I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me. Daily I had to choose to step without hesitation by faith, trusting that God would finish what He started. I didn’t know it was possbile to cram three minutes and forty-five seconds of choreography into less than eight hours. I didn’t know what we would do if it stormed at 4pm on Saturday (our scheduled performance time) and the tornado warning turned out not to be a warning after all. But I did know that I couldn’t go wrong “selling out” to a “Sold Out” God. And I was right.

James 2:18 says, “Show me your faith without works, and I will show you my faith by what I do.”

Because I knew that Jesus Christ had fought and won the battle for me life I could take risks for His glory. I could be “Sold Out” because there was nothing to loose. Looking back I realize that the beautiful and powerful moments that I experienced would never have happened if I had not “Sold Out.” Banking on who I knew God to be and daring to do what hadn’t been done allowed God to use me in beautiful and powerful ways. We have to be “Sold Out” to see the beauty and power of God in our lives.

It’s hard. It’s scary. But most of all it’s awesome.

flash mob

Watch the flash mob video here.

