7 Reasons Why You Need to Read a Book Today

{Guest Post by Kierstin Wilkins}

Books have the power to change the world. But more importantly, they have the power to change you.

I believe what we read sets a precedence for how we will choose to stretch and educate our minds.

There is not better way to become prolific in spelling and grammar and evaluating big ideas than to read good literature.

When I was growing up, it would be a rare sight for anyone to find me reading a “for fun” novel, although I truly did enjoy reading just about anything that was handed to me. My mom took special care in presenting me with literature that would grow me into a better rounded individual. Each time I took an interest in something, my mom was handing me a good book on the subject before I could blink.

Every year for years my dad would read and re-read out loud The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings to my brother and I. (And there is really no better way to add to one’s vocabulary arsenal than to read Tolkien.)

Over time, Jane Austen, The Bronte Sisters, and J.R.R Tolkien stories became every day reading for me. I had spent so long reading Chaucer and Beowulf in old English that the classics were a breeze.

What had happened was I spent my time engaged in activities and novels that would not only pass my time wisely, but educate me as well. Books give you the ability to read anything, speak and write properly, and carry on a wide variety of conversations with anyone.

I strongly believe in spending time reading genuinely good literature. If you need any convincing, below is a list of reasons why!

why you need to read good books

 1. Reading good books in an incentive to write good books. For those of us who have a knack for writing, reading good literature can only help us along in our endeavors.

2. Analyzing abilities are sure to grow. Any good novel will inevitably leave us with the ability to analyze a situation, judge the responses, and derive our own conclusion. We are persuaded to use attention to detail and to question the right and the wrongs of the story- skills we will apply in every day life.

3. Good literature encourages strong imaginations. It cultivates our creativity and innovative skills, creating brighter and more imaginative people. Who doesn’t want to be more creative?

4. Literature takes us to places we may otherwise never go! That is quite a plus to me since I hope to go to more places than I may be able to actually visit! Literature brings those places and even some people to life for us to experience in the comfort of our homes. It is a temporary cure for wanderlust. It also allows us to experience situations that we might not care to in real life.

5. We will inevitably be inspired. I don’t know about you, but I can’t read a good novel without stumbling across something that inspires me! Be it a moral conviction, a name that blossoms into a story of my own, or a word I’ve never encountered, leading me to learn its definition and then write a story because of it. Characters, stories, choices – they have the power to inspire us.

6. Self-expression is sure to be polished. Whether it is a speech, a conversation, a healthy debate, or a novel of our own, reading stories from talented authors will allow us to communicate and express ourselves in a more intelligent manner.

7. Life will be forced to slow down. Slowing down and taking the time to read good literature allows you to decompress and embrace a more simplistic side of life. Try sitting in front of a fire with a cup of coffee to read Pride and Prejudice, you’ll see what I mean.

So, what’s on your reading list for spring? 

Kierstin Wilkins is a wife, mother, and writer. She has a passion for telling stories and stringing words together and exploring the world around her. Growing up in the mountains of Montana, she developed a love for art and nature as well. You can see her beautiful creations by visiting her Etsy shop here.

