Movie Review: Heaven Is For Real

{By Ellery Sadler}

Rating: Fantastic. If you haven’t seen it yet, you need to. 

Can we all just agree that Connor Corum is the cutest child to walk the face of this planet since Shirley Temple? That little boy stole my heart the first scene of the film. Heaven Is For Real has created a lot of controversy – some people think it’s just hype, some say it’s a scam, some believe it, some critique it, so when I saw that the book was being made into a movie, I knew I absolutely needed to watch it. (Have I mentioned that I love movies?)

Heaven Is For Real tells the true story of four-year-old Colton’s trip to heaven during a traumatic surgery for his ruptured appendix. 

heaven is for real

 

Acting: Incredibly Authentic 

Made by Sony Pictures, with a budget big enough to garner well-trained actors, Heaven Is For Real blows most Christian movies out of the water in terms of acting. Greg Kinnear gave an authentic, heartfelt performance as Colton’s father. He was amazing to watch. Kelly Reilly, who plays Colton’s mom, Sonia, gave a stellar performance. Her voice is captivating and her acting incredible. Thomas Harden Church [from We Bought A Zoo] is one of my favorite actors and it was a pleasure to get to see him on the screen again. Lane Styles as Colton’s sister was a pleasure to watch. Wonderfully well done and beautifully authentic, the raw honesty of Heaven Is For Real blew me away.

colton burpo

 

Maturity Level: PG

Correctly rated PG, Heaven Is For Real is fine for the whole family. Although the tension and trauma of the surgery and the struggles of the dad might be a little much for young kids. Don’t be fooled into thinking this is going to be boring though, it was fantastic and completely captivating.

 

Worldview: Christian 

While it may seem obvious that this movie is Christian, I was actually really impressed with the way they portrayed Christianity. Instead of making it some ‘Bible-thumping’ movie, the boldness and accuracy was refreshing. They truthfully told the struggles and questions of a Christian community – balancing faith with fear. [Of course, I think they heightened the tension/questions to make it more interesting.]

 

Overall: Incredible

I can’t recommend this movie enough. The honesty and all around realism of Heaven Is For Real impressed and captivated me. It just seemed so natural and so good. The depiction of heaven seemed a little stereotypical, and I understand that they can’t make it as good as it is without seeing it, but after Colton’s descriptions in the book, I was hoping they could capture the amazingness of it a little more.

Heaven Is For Real is an incredibly moving, authentic film worth every second of your time. I highly recommend you watch it.

 

What are your thoughts? Have you seen it? 

 

