An Interview with Director Rob Diamond

{By Ellery Sadler}

Rob Diamond has been in the business of independent Christian film since before it was even a business.

There is a sense of determination and conviction in his voice. I can hear it as soon as he picks up the phone and we start to talk.

His latest film, which he wrote, directed, co-starred in, and produced, (just in case you were wondering if he is multi-talented, as well as dedicated to his calling) Wayward: The Prodigal Son, is a modern retelling of the classic parable and comes out in the summer of 2014. And I cannot wait to see it!!

So here is my interview with Rob Diamond.

rob4

 

Me: So tell me a little bit about Wayward, what is your vision behind the movie?

Rob: Well, I’ve always loved this story. The Prodigal Son is one of my favorites. And I’ve been through a lot in the recent years, so the foundational themes of forgiveness and redemption are really near and dear to me. And I think that parable is really relatable, I mean, there’s a little bit of waywardness in all of us. Even East of Eden is really a story about a prodigal son.

So Wayward is a modern retelling of this story. It’s about a guy’s rich dad and his big brother who steps up and takes over the business. And the younger brother can’t take it anymore so he wants his share of the money now and runs off to Vegas – you know, Sin City. And of course there is a romance in it, he meets a hooker with a heart of gold. It’s really a story of forgiveness and redemption, and we all need that.

 

Me: Do you think film reflects or directs the culture?

Rob: Oh I would say a combination of both. Society is sick of the trash; it’s finally realizing that it wants substance and real life in film. Hollywood does what makes money. But I’ve been doing this for a long time and I’m not doing it for popularity. Now, some big doors are opening. So I think that people are realizing that film both reflects and directs society, and they want movies that are inspiring.

 

Me: What do you think is the most important thing to remember when making a movie?

Rob: Not to lose the vision. To hold onto the reason you are making the film, the purpose behind it. Stay strong to your vision but open to ideas.

rob diamond christian director

Me: What advice would you give to someone looking to get involved in the business?

Rob: Audition. Intern. Hollywood doesn’t have a death grip on movies anymore, there are movies being made all over the place. So call a production company, find them on Facebook. And get connected.

Go for it. You know, for me, I learn by doing. So get out and do it.

 

Me: How does your faith impact your work?

Rob: My faith is who I am, and I project that into all my films. I try to be very thoughtful and prayerful about my work. And you it has to jive with my soul’s code.

 

Me: You’ve been in the business for a long time, what do you see for the future of Christian movies?

Rob: I see I bright future. I think the support for the business is getting stronger and stronger. Christian movies are here to stay. And the world wants good movies, more family friendly movies. But even if it isn’t popular, I’m going to keep making them. I’m going to die trying.

 

Me: What’s your latest project?

Rob: Well, I’m working on Christmas film right now. My favorite part of the business is probably writing. I have like eight or ten screenplays written, just waiting to be made. I write every day.

 

Me: I love to write too! For someone like me wanting to write a screenplay, what advice would you give?

Rob: Get a screenwriting program and go for it. People are too afraid of failure. Give it a shot. I’d rather fail trying then not try at all.

 

Me: How would you like to be remembered?

Rob: That I was good to people and treated people well. That my stories moved them, and took them on an emotional journey. The truth bleeds onto the canvas of my films, and I want those truths to change people.

rob diamond christian independent film director

Me: What’s your favorite movie?

Rob: Passion of the Christ. It really captured the hardship that Christ went through and the love He has. I think Mel Gibson is brilliant. Personal life aside, he’s an incredible filmmaker. Two of my other favorites are The Wizard of Oz and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

 

Me: What impact do you hope Wayward has on the people who see it?

Rob: I want it to show people there is hope. That parents don’t give up on their wayward kids, that there is always hope. That for the people on the edge, they think twice before going wayward. And for the person who is wayward, that they would see there is hope and you can always come home.

Of course, I also want to entertain their socks off.

 

You can find Rob here on Facebook. And be sure to like Wayward on Facebook here!! 

 

 

 

