3 Apps for the Scatterbrained World-Changer

{By Kyle Griesinger}

If you are anything like me you have big dreams and big plans, but sometimes the biggest obstacle to your success is yourself because you cant find your stapler, or your notebook, or the email you need, or your phone, or your laptop… (I can’t even tell you how many times I have lost my laptop, searched for it for hours, and found it where it always is… on my desk.)

The first step to getting (somewhat) organized was realizing that being scatterbrained is just part of my personality type and that I have to find ways to work around it and use it as a strength. I started by using several apps to get my digital life in order, here are three:

1. Evernote

evernote

Evernote is a fantastic note taking app, but it does a lot more than just take notes! You can save webpages, documents, pictures, lists, hand written notes, and so much more with Evernote!

I use Evernote as an in-depth task manager and reminders system. I do this by using Evernote’s built in notebook feature, I create a notebook for each project I am working on then I save any and all info that I need for that project in that notebook. That includes emails, webpages, articles, pictures, documents, etc.

Also I use the built in reminders to notify me when I have free time so that I don’t forget.

Evernote has apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone, OSX, and Windows.

2. CloudMagic

CloudMagic-for-Android-Now-on-Tablets

CloudMagic is my favorite email application, it works very similarly to most email applications, it allows for multiple email accounts, and obviously you can use all of the normal features of email. What puts CloudMagic over the top of its competent competitors, like Mailbox and the Gmail app, is its ‘cards’ system on any email you can press a button and it will bring up several digital cards with information about the email and the sender. It also has cards that let you take action on the email, right now they have an Evernote card, which allows you to save the email directly into Evernote which makes CloudMagic fit perfectly into the system I mentioned above, and a Pocket card, which allows you to save the links in the email in Pocket for you to read later.

CloudMagic has apps for iPhone, iPad, and Android.

3. Pocket

pocket-app-logo

If you don’t know what pocket is, it’s essentially a way to save online articles to read later. If you are anything like me you constantly come across interesting articles that you just don’t have time to read at that moment. Pocket solves this problem by giving you a place to save these articles where you can come back and read them when its convenient.

Pocket has apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, OSX and a web app that can be accessed through any web browser.

So while I still lose things I have made great strides in keeping my digital life organized!

…Now if I can just find my laptop…

What would you add to the list? What tools have helped you get organized?

