Valentine’s Day: Love is Action

{By Lindsay Chilton}

love

Valentine’s Day is here,  and Wal-Mart and other stores make it one of their sole priorities to remind you to stock up on giant teddy bears and chocolates for that special someone.

The bigger the stuffed bear the more your guy loves you, right?

Society says that love is buying the biggest gift you can afford. They idolize Hollywood relationships and claim that it’s perfectly fine to enjoy a relationship until it’s not fun anymore and then it’s acceptable to end it.

But what is God’s definition of love?

In 1 Corinthians 13:3-7, Paul very clearly explains to us what Love really is.

Love never gives up. Love cares more for others than for self. Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have. Love doesn’t strut, doesn’t have a swelled head, doesn’t force itself on others, isn’t always “me first”,  doesn’t fly off the handle, doesn’t keep score of the sins of others, doesn’t revel when others grovel, takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, puts up with anything, trust God always, always looks for the best, never looks back, but keeps going to the end.

Now what do all of these things have in common? They are all action.

Society likes to put a lot of emphasis on feeling, i.e. “Just do whatever feels good.” That phrase is pretty contradictory to what the Bible tells us. Sometimes I don’t necessarily “feel” like taking my dog on a walk when she’s being annoying and it’s inconvenient for me, but because I love her I take her on the walk.  It has nothing to do with what YOU get from it.

Love is about giving when there is nothing left to give.

Love is about being there for someone even if they have failed you. Because if we only give of ourselves to those who give to us, then what is so extraordinary about that?  Love isn’t going to be perfect all of the time. In fact, I mess up and return to my selfish ways a lot.  But even if I don’t feel loving all the time, I can still act in it and remember, I don’t deserve the Father’s love yet He still loves me.

How do you show people that you love them?

And as a bonus, here are a couple of fun cards to give to the person you love this St. Valentine’s Day:     

  For your siblings and friends:

funny valentine

For that special someone:

match

For the food lover:

sweets

