Is Pinterest A Waste of Time?

{By Lindsay Chilton}

I LOVE Pinterest. In fact, I’m slightly addicted.
is pinterest a waste of time
       It has everything from the ‘best chocolate cupcakes in the world’ to hilarious pictures of cats. I could spend hours browsing this fantastic website and never get tired of looking at all the pretty things. I have a board for my Doctor Who obsession, a board for the perfect wedding, a board for witty pick up lines, and lots of other boards with subjects that intrigue me.
       What is Pinterest? Pinterest is a social media website that does what the name implies. It’s a virtual pin board where you can “pin” all of your favorite pictures for everyone on the internet to see.
       Pinterest can be extremely deceptive because you feel as if you’ve accomplished something even though it’s really just posting one more cute pair of shoes to your ‘Totes Adorbs’ board. When I pin a cute DIY craft to one of my boards I automatically feel a little more accomplished even though I haven’t even attempted to try the craft myself.  On Pinterest I am the best version of myself. I am the healthiest, best dressed, craftiest pinner until I realize that in reality I’ve just spent 4 hours on this website, I’m still in my pajamas, and I haven’t done anything productive at all. Yet, I still go back to it. It’s because I love the site and all of it’s possibilities. I can arrange those flowers in the perfect way; I can cook that macaroni and cheese dish; I can do that intricate braid…As soon as I get enough energy to get off of the computer.
       There are so many wonderful ideas on Pinterest but you won’t gain anything just by pinning them. It’s oddly satisfying having a successful Pinterest board, but you have to do something with your pins for them to be satisfying in real life. Pinterest can be a waste of time if you let it become one, but if you use it to spark your creative abilities it can be helpful and fun.
      Use Pinterest as an idea board and a place to get inspiration for your next project but don’t let it consume you.
And here are a couple things just to make you smile.
Little kitties.
is pinterest a waste of time
An adorable baby.
Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 4.12.04 PM
Flowers made from Q-tips. How cool is that?
Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 4.18.43 PM
Hands that tell the story of a lifetime.
Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 4.16.31 PM
