The Need for A Vision

{By Ellery Sadler}

‘Without a vision the people perish.’ Proverbs

vision

We live in a pretty pessimistic, cynical world that usually tells us we aren’t good enough the way we are, the world is a horrible place, our future is looking worse and worse and generally, why not just give up now?

Because we have a purpose. We are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a people set apart. Every single human being who walks on the face of this earth has a purpose for being here, a purpose given to them by the Creator of the universe, by God Himself.

But in all the hurried, monotonous, hum-drum of our daily lives we often forget to have a vision, and we suffer because of it. Let’s just think about this in terms of reality (the reality we often ignore or forget): this is not just some boring little mundane life we have to struggle through, that doesn’t really matter and isn’t really important.

No. We have work to do and people to love and things to create. Don’t waste your life. Don’t sit back and forget the reason you are here: to bring glory to God and to have a deep, intimate relationship with Him.

Don’t ever let someone tell you you are not important. You are vastly important, infinitely  important.

So what is your vision? What are your goals? How do you plan to reach them?

For myself, I decided to make a 5 Year Goal Plan of about twenty things I want to do before I’m 22. It helps keep me focused. And maybe I don’t reach all of my goals, maybe God has different plans for me, but even if that is the case, at least it gives me something worthy to work for. As the saying goes: ‘When you reach for the stars, you may not quite get one, but you won’t come up with a handful of mud either’ – Burnett. 

So many teens and twenty-somethings kind of meander through life, or stress themselves into uselessness or drown in the depressing statistics and news stories and political scandals. We need to have a vision.

 It can be a big vision: what God wants me to do with my life.

Or a little smaller: what God wants me to do in the next three years.

Or smaller: what God wants me to do this year.

Or even smaller: what God has placed before me to do this week, or today.

Dream big and work hard. Make some goals and set out to meet them. We, as human beings, need something to reach for. Make sure you are reaching for something, and  make sure it is worthy.

Don’t let the politics, the fear-mongering, the news, or anything else, rob you of your potential. You were created to do great things.  

