Review: Return to the Hiding Place

{By Ellery Sadler}

Rating: Incredible. Haunting. Powerful. This is a movie worth watching again and again. 

As you know by now, I am a huge lover movies. But, I have to say, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a new ‘Christian’ movie that really impressed me. So I am pleased to announce I have found a truly incredible film: Return to the Hiding Place.

Screen Shot 2013-04-22 at 11.03.04 AM

Set in Holland during World War Two, Return to the Hiding Place tells the true story of Corrie Ten Boom’s secret army of teenagers who helped her rescue more than 800 Jews from the horrors of the Nazi prison camps.

Told with beautiful authenticity, magnificent cinematography, and fabulous acting, this movie left me deeply moved and very impressed.

Acting: Well done and genuine

Show at the San Antonio Independent Christian Film Festival, Return to the Hiding Place stood out as a truly fabulous film. It rightly achieved the Best Feature Film Award and the Audience Choice Award. I’ve seen a number of christian films that have left me unmoved and wondering why it seems so difficult to find good actors, and a good screenwriter, but I was pleasantly surprised by Return to the Hiding Place. With stellar performances by the talented Craig Robert Young, David Thomas Jenkins, Stass Klassen, and the  supporting cast, this movie’s passion and authenticity recreated the World War Two era with amazing success. I was lost in the reality of their world and their lives.

Maturity Level: PG-13 (Personally, I would not recommend this for anyone younger than 16.)

The Nazis are portrayed vividly, and while there is no “gore” or overtly bloody scenes, there are a number of deaths and some violence, along with several truly disturbing images. Return to the Hiding Place tactfully and accurately addresses the emotional trauma and horrors of World War Two, without showing too much to the audience.

Worldview: Christian

Tastefully woven throughout this movie is the reality of the Truth of Christ. The heartbeat of this film, and the true story, is the devotion and bravery of these teenagers as they rely on their stalwart faith and hope in God to see them through one of the most horrific times in history. This whole movie is based on a Christian/Jewish worldview, tastefully and tactfully portrayed through the lives of the characters.

Overall: Very Impressive and Highly Recommended

I really enjoyed watching this film. Director Peter Spencer and Co-Director Josiah Spencer did a wonderful job. Finding an engaging, well made film with talented actors in the Christian arena is rare, but Return to the Hiding Place succeeded, and exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend you watch it.

“As the will of the students goes, so goes the will of the nation.” 

